Trauma and tragedy

TRIGGER WARNING

I heard a loud thud followed by people screaming and shouting. I ran to the balcony and saw a woman lying on top of a shed while the other person was hunched over her and crying.

This woman had jumped/fallen from a top floor, opposite my building. A few moments later, the ambulance, fire brigade and police arrived on the scene.

The woman was alive but not conscious.

They had to remove her from the top of the shed which was about a floor high. It took them about 30 minutes or so.

I am not sure whether she had jumped, had been pushed or accidentally fell down but it just became so real. So real.

My heart kept on sinking and I was eventually overcome by nausea. I came inside and sat on the couch while my head spun uncontrollably.

I had been rattled and shaken by the scene because of its familiarity.

Images of myself lying there flashed in front of my eyes. I have had contemplated my own end so many times. I have been so close so many times.

For the first time ever, I was able to conjure up the faces of those people who I would have left behind to suffer had I decided to go ahead with anyone of my plans. I shuddered and I panicked.

I just…

3 thoughts on “Trauma and tragedy

What did you think?

